Our Team

Meet our team!





Francisco Machado, Ph.D.

Maia Institute for Higher Studies, Portugal


Term: 2018-2020


Francisco is a Professor and researcher at Maia Institute for Higher Studies in Porto, Portugal. There he is also Director/Coordinator of the Masters Degree in School and Educational Psychology. His research interests focus on family studies; parenting; interpersonal acceptance-rejection and its consequences for child and adult development; vocational/career development and guidance; and, special needs education and violent behavior, especially in school/educational contexts. He also has a private practice as an educational psychologist.

Past President 



Artemis Giotsa, Ph.D.,
University of Ioannina, Greece
Term: 2016-2018
Dr. Giotsa is Associate Professor of Social Psychology in the Department of Early Childhood Education, University of Ioannina, Greece. Her main interests are focused on the family in cross- cultural contexts. She is especially interested in issues of acceptance-rejection in early childhood by parents, grandparents, and teachers. She is also interested in the application of systemic theory in parents’ counseling groups. Since 2005, she has been the Scientific Coordinator of the program “Parents Schools” in Greece, supported by the Ministry of Education. She has adapted in Greece the program “Adults and Children Together Against Violence” (ACT) created by the American Psychological Association. She has developed as co-author the “Family Roles Questionnaire,” a psychometric scale on family roles with cross-cultural validity. She has also published three books and more than 30 articles.
President Elect




Brien Ashdown, Ph.D.,

Hobart and William Smith Colleges, New York

Term: 2018-2020


Dr. Ashdown is Associate Professor of Psychology at the Hobart and William Smith Colleges, New York. His research interests are focused on social development and cultural influences on adolescent and emerging adulthood (specifically, interpersonal acceptance and rejection, development of group identity and attitudes, prejudice, religious development, sexual behaviors and attitudes). He is also interested in research on the teaching of psychology and on advocating for and supporting early career professionals.

Secretary Treasurer


             Nancy D. Rohner              

The Rohner Center   


Term: 2014-2018


Nancy is a founding member of the ISIPAR. She is also Executive Assistant to the Director of the Rohner Center for the Study of Interpersonal Acceptance and Rejection at the University of Connecticut. Her interest in interpersonal acceptance and rejection spans the 30 years of her association with the Rohner Center and its founder, Ronald P. Rohner. Working on a daily basis at ISIPAR’s Central Office with the Executive Director of the Society, Nancy has detailed knowledge of the duties required to fulfill the office of Secretary-Treasurer. Under her direction, the staff at the ISIPAR Central Office maintains fiscal records for the Society. She has been instrumental in expanding the membership of the Society. She also works with Regional Representatives to reach out to students all over the world to bring research in interpersonal acceptance-rejection to their attention.

Executive Director

Ronald P Rohner

Ronald P. Rohner, Ph.D.

University of Connecticut, Storrs



Ronald P. Rohner, Ph.D., is Professor Emeritus of Family Studies and Anthropology at the University of Connecticut (UCONN), Storrs, CT, USA. He is also Director of the Ronald and Nancy Rohner Center for the Study of Interpersonal Acceptance and Rejection located on the UCONN Campus. Additionally, he serves as Executive Director and is former President of the International Society for Interpersonal Acceptance and Rejection. He is the author of Interpersonal Acceptance-Rejection Theory (IPARTheory), its associated measures, twelve books, and more than 200 articles and other publications. Ron, has also received the American Psychological Association (APA) Award for Distinguished Contributions to the International Advancement of Psychology in 2004. He also received the APA Outstanding International Psychologist Award from the USA for 2008, and the APA Henry David International Mentoring Award in 2017.